The Whole 30 Challenge

Standard

I know its been a while since I last posted and that I should keep up with the blog more, (Its been over 6 months and I’ve only posted once, YIKES!) but I’m going to give this thing another shot.  On Wednesday I am starting a Whole 30.  Don’t know what that is, check out whole30.com to find out more info. Basically for 30 days I will be cutting out all added sugars, grains, dairy products and legumes.  Why am I doing this you ask? I am doing this because I want to be a better, healthier version of myself.  I am doing this because I want to feel better, because I want to have children, because my body is a temple…. and I could go on and on and on.  My future depends on me changing the way that I eat and the habits I have built around food.

It was brought to my attention the other night that there are certain food I get really excited about.  Anyone that knows me well knows that the 3 foods that excite me the most are my my Mom’s chicken and dumplings, my grandma’s chicken pot pie, and CHEESECAKE! Talking about and even thinking about these foods makes me happy and my mouth starts to water!!!:) But that’s just it, I need to change my way of thinking so the healthy, unprocessed, good for your mind, body, and soul foods are the foods that excite and make me happy.

I tried a whole 30 about a Year ago and I stopped short after 3 weeks 😦 I’ve started diet after diet, Monday after Monday and each time it gets harder to keep going.  I’m tired of saying I’ll just start again on Monday and by Monday afternoon I’m eating fast food and ice cream.  This time it has to stick, which is part of the reason I am writing this post (and why I will be posting everyday for the next 30 days) I can’t do this alone!!! I will be joining Ceci over at Caffeinated Journey as well as posting pics of the foods we try on instagram @mrsmeaganwhitten. To help us out I’m asking that y’all send a lot of prayer and encouragement over our way!!!

My prayer through out this endeavor (which will last longer than 30 Days, the Whole 30 is just my starting point) is that God will use this lifestyle change AS my Miracle of Life.  I pray for life in myself, that I might be able to do more for his kingdom because I wont be worn down by the bad food I put in my body.  I pray for life in my husband, that he may be able to draw inspiration from me to be healthier.  I pray for life in my friends and family, that they would be able to be encouraged in their health.  Lastly I pray that it brings us a little life (a baby) to nurture, to love, and to teach all about living abundantly for the Lord.

With Love,

Meagan

And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns – Phillipians 1:6

One thought on “The Whole 30 Challenge

Leave a Reply

